Islam – In a Nutshell – A Short Message


The five pillars of Islam are:

  1. Shahadah (Testimony of Faith) – repeated in every salat (prayer).
  2. Salat (Prayer) – Five daily obligatory prayers for every sane Muslim during prescribed times.
  3. Zakat (Giving in charity) – a yearly purification of wealth – 2.5% on declared items and monetary wealth.
  4. As-Saum (Fasting; abstaining from all foods and drinks) – once a year during the 9th lunar month of Ramadan.
  5. Al-Hajj (Pilgrimage to Mecca) – once in a lifetime if one has the means to do it. Can also perform for others (i.e. parents).
The Articles of Faith are:
  1. Belief in the Oneness of God. There is One God, Supreme and Eternal, Creator and Provider, Who is Merciful and Compassionate.
  2. Belief in the Angels of God (who have no free will but obey the commands of Allah swt).
  3. Belief in the Revelations (Books) of God (Muslims believe that all revelations came from Allah).
  4. Belief in the Prophets of God (all the prophets that have been sent by Allah with Muhammad pbuh being last sent to whole mankind).
  5. Belief in the Day of Judgment (resurrection and judgement that all making will be subjected to).
  6. Belief in Premeasurement (Qadar) – all what has happened and will happen is already written and known to Allah swt.


Related Articles

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x